Quickly process a JSON string

So this method is so naive that I’m not so proud of it.
But “hey, we have plenty of resources now, and we I’ve paid for it!” they say…
Actually this a homemade/handmade/whatever kind of parser for a JSON string like this:

{“user”:”paraimpu”,”text”:”Hi Twitter buddies”, “created_at”:”Wed, 05 Oct 2011 13:45:03 +0000″}

What I do: I analyze every character of the json string, and look for a first  quotation mark like this ” .
Then I save all of the text until I find another quotation mark.
All the rest is ignored.
I build a string with all the characters inside the two quotation marks, and then add that string to a List.
Then I scan that list in another function, and when I find a field of interest, like ‘text’, I know that the related content of that field is one cell ahead, ready to be used (because the json string is structured that way).
Nothing more, nothing less, no libraries, so naive.
This is what I get if I print the elements of that list


user paraimpu text Hi Twitter buddies created_at Wed, 05 Oct 2011 13:45:03 +0000

 

Here is the code for processing (Java derived language) but you can quickly understand how to replicate it in other languages.

http://pastebin.com/MTY0JPXW 

I’m still messing around with Paraimpu’s functionalities.

Lascia un commento

